EST Gee's Consistency Is Unmatched On "MAD" Mixtape

BYAron A.5.4K Views
Link Copied to Clipboard!
Young Scooter and Boosie Badazz appear on EST Gee's new project.

EST Gee is one of the coldest rappers in the game, period. The Louisville native came out the gates swinging when “Lick Back” dropped but he proved that his consistency is his best weapon. After getting the stamp of approval from Yo Gotti, he began to flourish with his subsequent releases as he fulfilled a massive gap in street rap. Gee’s raspy voice, motivational bars, and cut-throat attitude helped him turn into one of the most exciting rappers in the game right now. And with each release, it becomes more apparent that he won’t be going anywhere anytime soon.

Though he only released his official debut album in September, he still has more in the arsenal ready to drop. He announced his new mixtape, Mad earlier this month before following up with records like “25Min Freestyle.” However, he finally came through with the project this morning, and it certainly lives up to the standard he established when he came out the get. Mad could very well stand as one of the best rap releases of 2023.

EST Gee “Mad” Ft. Young Scooter & Boosie Badazz

EST Gee’s new mixtape consists of fourteen songs in total with appearances from Young Scooter and Boosie Badazz. Though some fans were mildly underwhelmed by the lack of star-studded names attached to the tracklist, his collaborators emphasize the weight of the South’s legacy. That’s not limited to his features, either but the sample he uses across the project. For example, he pairs a sample of Kanye’s “Diamonds From Sierra Leone” with an interpolation of Gucci Mane’s “My Kitchen.” Meanwhile, T.I.’s “24’s” flows make their way onto the hook of “The One & Only.”

EST Gee proves that he’s keeping his foot on the rap game’s neck but what’s been most interesting about the rapper’s recent outings is the displays of growth. While songs like “Bloody Man” showcased his vocal range, he explores that even further on this album. EST Gee is basically a one-man band at this point, who needs little assistance from his fellow peers in hip-hop. Check out his new project above and sound off with your thoughts in the comments. 

"MAD" Tracklist

  1. Pray You Die In Surgery
  2. Ball Like Me Too
  3. The One & Only
  4. Blow Up
  5. Slam Dunk Ft. Young Scooter
  6. Stay Focused 
  7. Drop Top
  8. 25MIN Freestyle
  9. Hotboys ft. Boosie Badazz 
  10. Us
  11. If I Stop Now
  12. Lie To Me Some
  13. Undefeated 
  14. Kada Song ft. Kada
About The Author
Aron A. is a features editor for HotNewHipHop. Beginning his tenure at HotNewHipHop in July 2017, he has comprehensively documented the biggest stories in the culture over the past few years. Throughout his time, Aron’s helped introduce a number of buzzing up-and-coming artists to our audience, identifying regional trends and highlighting hip-hop from across the globe. As a Canadian-based music journalist, he has also made a concerted effort to put spotlights on artists hailing from North of the border as part of Rise & Grind, the weekly interview series that he created and launched in 2021. Aron also broke a number of stories through his extensive interviews with beloved figures in the culture. These include industry vets (Quality Control co-founder Kevin "Coach K" Lee, Wayno Clark), definitive producers (DJ Paul, Hit-Boy, Zaytoven), cultural disruptors (Soulja Boy), lyrical heavyweights (Pusha T, Styles P, Danny Brown), cultural pioneers (Dapper Dan, Big Daddy Kane), and the next generation of stars (Lil Durk, Latto, Fivio Foreign, Denzel Curry). Aron also penned cover stories with the likes of Rick Ross, Central Cee, Moneybagg Yo, Vince Staples, and Bobby Shmurda.