According to a new BET press release, the revamped Soul Train Awards show "bridges the gap between the soulful sounds of yesterday and today; acting as a hybrid of a traditional show with an 'honors' show format. Showcasing the evolution of Soul Train’s impact on musical history from the 70s, 80s, 90s, and today, the new Soul Train Awards is all about the melodic marriage of music and dance."

This year's ceremony took place on Friday at the Orleans Arena in Las Vegas, Nevada. "Album Of The Year" went to Kendrick Lamar for good kid, m.A.A.d city, and "Song Of The Year" went to Robin Thicke, Pharrell Williams, and T.I. for Thicke's hit single "Blurred Lines," which has apparently broken the record for "highest radio audience ever." Other winners included Miguel and Tamar Braxton, who took home the "Best R&B/Soul Male Artist" and "Best R&B/Soul Female Artist" awards.

The ceremony included performances from Jennifer Hudson, Chaka Khan, T.I., Warren G, Doug E. Fresh, Slick Rick, and Big Daddy Kane.

The awards air on Sunday, December 1, 2013 at 9:00 PM EST on BET and CENTRIC.