UPDATE 1/21/16

A rep for Yasiin Bey has told The Fader that all of Bey's social media channels are fake, so sadly none of the collaborations posted to the Instagram account referenced in this article are real either.


This morning, Yasiin Bey shared news that he will be releasing one more record before retiring from hip hop forever. This news comes via a phone call & freestyle that was posted by Kanye West.

Yasiin Bey is currently in Cape Town, South Africa. He or someone from his camp has begun posting images to his Instagram account, seemingly showing a tracklisting from the album. The images are paired with enigmatic comments. The track list so far is:

1. The Wanderers (feat. Kendrick Lamar)

2. You Can Have Your Party

3. Assalamualaikum, Dunya (feat. Kanye West, J. Cole, Lupe Fiasco)

There’s no release date for the album, but we’ll keep updating this post as the full tracklist becomes available. Note that the order of the tracks may change, we're going off the order they were posted.

The artists formerly known as Mos Def may be staying in South Africa for a while longer. He has been formally charged with using a false passport and an unrecognized travel document, as well as helping his family stay illegally int he country. Bey is out on bail until he has to return for a court date on March 8, while his family must leave the country by January 28. We’re wishing the best for himself and his family.