After posting a disturbingly realistic looking video in which XXXTENTACION seemingly hung himself, the young rapper later clarified that it was all in the name of art. More specifically, the clip was a behind the scenes look at his upcoming music video, which stems from the young Florida emcee’s recently released 17 project. Now, the no-doubt-inevitably controversial album has arrived for your listening pleasure, and while the surrounding buzz has been divisive, the end result is certainly different from your average hip-hop album.

In fact, X has previously described this project as one for his depressed fans, with songs like intro cut “Jocelyn Flores” being a dedication to his friend who committed suicide. There’s plenty of the melodic vibes X introduced on his Soundcloud hit “garrette’s REVENGE,” which found the rapper experimenting with guitar and vocal arrangements that stood out from his general, lo-fi aesthetic. Say what you will about X, but he excels at channeling his pent up emotion into music, and 17 is no exception. Even the sole feature from Trippe Redd is a deviation from his wild energy, opting instead for a mournful sung refrain. 

Check out the tracklist below, and take a listen (below). It’s a dark, sometimes bleak journey, but the raw level of emotional vulnerability is certainly interesting. Overall, it’s an unexpected direction for X, especially when compared to his breakout hit “Look At Me.” 

1. “Jocelyn Flores”
2. “Depression & Obsession”
3. “Everybody Dies in Their Nightmares”
4. “Revenge”
5. “Save Me”
6. “Dead Inside (Interlude)”
7. “Fuck Love” Feat. Trippie Redd
8. “Carry On”
9. “Orlando”
10. “Ayala (Outro)”


Stream XXXTENTACION's "17" Here