The 2019 NBA All Star festivities in Charlotte will officially kickoff on Friday, February 15, featuring a Team USA vs Team World showcase in the Rising Stars Challenge.

As always, the Rising Stars Challenge consists of the league's most exciting first and second year players, including rookies Luka Doncic, Trae Young and DeAndre Ayton, as well as second year stars like Donovan Mitchell, Jayson Tatum and Ben Simmons [insert age joke here]. 

Team USA, coached by Celtics All Star Kyrie Irving, includes Utah Jazz guard Donovan Mitchell, Brooklyn Nets center Jarrett Allen, Sacramento Kings forward Marvin Bagley III and guard De’Aaron Fox, Los Angeles Lakers guard Lonzo Ball and forward Kyle Kuzma, Atlanta Hawks forward/center John Collins and guard Trae Young, Memphis Grizzlies forward/center Jaren Jackson Jr. and Boston Celtics forward Jayson Tatum.

Team World will be coached by Mavericks legend Dirk Nowitzki. The 10-man roster includes Sixers guard Ben Simmons (Australia), Mavs rookie Luka Dončić (Slovenia), Toronto Raptors forward OG Anunoby (United Kingdom), Phoenix Suns center Deandre Ayton (Bahamas), Kings guard Bogdan Bogdanović (Serbia), LA Clippers guard Shai Gilgeous-Alexander (Canada), Nets forward Rodions Kurucs(Latvia), Chicago Bulls forward Lauri Markkanen (Finland), Minnesota Timberwolves guard Josh Okogie (Nigeria) and Cleveland Cavaliers forward Cedi Osman (Turkey).

According to, NBA assistant coaches selected the Rising Stars rosters, with each of the league’s 30 teams submitting one ballot per coaching staff. Each ballot consisted of four frontcourt players, four guards and two additional players at either position group for each team.

Voters also had to choose a minimum of three first-year NBA players and three second-year NBA players for each team. Coaches were not permitted to vote for any player on their team.

The Rising Stars Challenge is set to air on Friday, February 15 at 9 pm ET at Spectrum Center in Charlotte.