NBA Admits Blown Call At The End Of Thunder Vs. Warriors Game 1

Posted by , May 17, 2016 at 11:40am

Westbrook got away with a crucial travel in Game 1


If Game 1 of the Western Conference Finals was any indication, this Thunder vs. Warriors series is going to be one for the ages. Of course, the game was not without controversy. 

In last night's thriller, Russell Westbrook got away with a pivotal travel right in front of Steve Kerr, but the officials missed it allowing Russ to call a timeout. Some free throws later, the Thunder escaped Oracle Arena with a 108-102 victory and a 1-0 series lead over the defending champs.

Today, however, the NBA admitted that they blew the call and the Westbrook should've been whistled for traveling. This seems to be a recurring theme this post season...

"The officials, no one could get in a good position to see him drag that pivot foot," NBA senior vice president of replay and referee operations Joe Borgia said in a postgame interview on NBA TV. "It's an unfortunate miss, but so much going on in the play, the speed of it, and officiating is about getting angles and sometimes you just can't get them, and they did not get a great angle on that play."

Westbrook got away with a crucial travel in Game 1

If Game 1 of the Western Conference Finals was any indication, this Thunder vs. Warriors series is going to be one for the ages. Of course, the game was not without controversy. 

In last night's thriller, Russell Westbrook got away with a pivotal travel right in front of Steve Kerr, but the officials missed it allowing Russ to call a timeout. Some free throws later, the Thunder escaped Oracle Arena with a 108-102 victory and a 1-0 series lead over the defending champs.

Today, however, the NBA admitted that they blew the call and the Westbrook should've been whistled for traveling. This seems to be a recurring theme this post season...

"The officials, no one could get in a good position to see him drag that pivot foot," NBA senior vice president of replay and referee operations Joe Borgia said in a postgame interview on NBA TV. "It's an unfortunate miss, but so much going on in the play, the speed of it, and officiating is about getting angles and sometimes you just can't get them, and they did not get a great angle on that play."

Comments

4
ADD COMMENTView Comment Thread