Ahead of the first NBA 2K League season finale on August 25, the league has announced the addition of four new franchises for the second season in 2019. Those teams include franchises owned by the Atlanta Hawks, Brooklyn Nets, Los Angeles Lakers and Minnesota Timberwolves.

The Hawks, Nets, Lakers and Timberwolves will now create affiliated brands that will look similar to their basketball franchises, just like the other 17 teams that participated in the inaugural NBA 2K League that kicked off in May.

"Welcoming these four world-class organizations and their passionate fanbases to the NBA 2K League is an exciting moment not only for the league, but for the entire 2K community," NBA 2K League managing director Brendan Donohue said in a statement Wednesday, according to ESPN. "From their innovative spirit to their global reach, we know each of these teams will be a tremendous addition, and we are thrilled that this growth offers the opportunity for new players, coaches and support staff to join the league." 

The NBA 2K League playoffs are slated to begin on Friday, August 17, as the eight teams remaining teams compete for the $300,000 grand prize. All of the games are streamed on Twitch and takes place at the NBA 2K League Studio Powered by Intel in New York City.

NBA 2K19 will release globally on September 11. According to ESPN, the NBA 2K League is expected to host its expansion draft on September 28.