Details on the upcoming Kendrick Lamar album continue to roll in. Last week, we saw the initial tracklist to To Pimp a Butterfly, which included zero features. Today (March 15), Kendrick has confirmed there will, indeed, be a few noteworthy guests on the LP. 

It seems TPAB will have heavy funk/soul vibes, as P-Funk frontman George Clinton and bassist/producer Thundercat will appear together on "Wesley's Theory". Neo-soul crooner/songwriter James Fauntleroy will also appear on "How Much a Dollar Cost?" with The Isley Brothers' lead singer Ronald Isley ("i" samples The Isley Brothers' "That Lady"). The only rappers on the record are lady-MC Rapsody, who did a song with K-Dot in late 2011 and Snoop Dogg; though, from what we've heard off Bush, Snoop continues to move toward funkier territory. The rest of the album's guests include: Anna Wise, who sang on "Real" off Good Kid, M.A.A.D City, and soul man Bilal, who has had years' worth of hip-hop collabs. The official tracklist now reads: 

  1. Wesley's Theory (feat. George Clinton & Thundercat)
  2. For Free? (Interlude)
  3. King Kunta
  4. Institutionalized (feat. Bilal, Anna Wise & Snoop Dogg)
  5. These Walls (feat. Bilal, Anna Wise & Snoop Dogg)
  6. U
  7. Alright
  8. For Sale? (Interlude)
  9. Momma
  10. Hood Politics
  11. How Much A Dollar Cost (feat. James Fauntleroy & Ronald Isley)
  12. Complexion (A Zulu Love) (feat. Rapsody)
  13. The Blacker The Berry
  14. You Ain't Gotta Lie (Momma Said)
  15. i
  16. Mortal Man

Do these guest features affect your expectations for the album?

Pre-order To Pimp a Butterfly on iTunes