J Dilla Songs

  • Dillatronic #34
    Dillatronic #34
    J Dilla's mother Ma Dukes made a lot of hip hop fans happy when she announced, in conjunction with Vintage Vibez Music Group, that she would be releasing Dillatronic, a new album with over 40 unreleased electronic-influenced Dilla instrumentals.
  • Dillatronic #7
    Dillatronic #7
    Probably the best hip hop news to surface this week was the announcement of a new J Dilla album called Dillatronic. The album is due out on October 30 and will feature OVER 40 unreleased, electronic-influenced Dilla instrumentals.
  • Right Back
    Right Back
    In a couple weeks, Slum Village will release their new album Yes!, featuring guest appearances and production from J Dilla, BJ the Chicago Kid, Jon Connor, Phife Dawg, Bilal, J Ivy, and others. Before it arrives on June 16, the duo decide to come through and share another leak off it first called “Right Back”. With production from the late J Dilla and a guest verse from De La Soul, “Right Back” is something true hip hop fans should definitely appreciate. Suggest giving this one a few listens. Thoughts?
  • E(I)GO
    T3 is now the only founding member left in Detroit's legendary Slum Village. The remaining two are Illa J (the younger brother of the late, great founding member J Dilla) and producer Young RJ. The three put out Evolution in 2013, the first S.V. album in three years, and last year, they gave us Vintage, an EP that features posthomous productions from Dilla. Now they're back with "E(I)GO," the first single off their upcoming album, YES, which is set for release later this year.
  • The Season (Remix)
    The Season (Remix)
    J Dilla's "Gobstopper" beat has been sitting around for years, with a few enterprising individuals dropping bars over it in years past, but now that Nas copped the instrumental for his new track "The Season," you can bet that he'll inspire new takes on the 2006 track. Fittingly enough, it's AZ, Nas' old collaborator, who steps up to remix it first.
  • One
    Privaledge takes on J Dilla's acclaimed "Stop" instrumental (also used on Usher's "Throwback" from Confessions) for "One."  The last time we heard from Privaledge was on "Pillow Talkin'." Compared to that street single, this one is much smoother--less intended for the whip and more so for the headphones. It emphasizes Priv's versatility as an artist.
  • The Season
    The Season
    We knew this was coming. After previewing the new, J Dilla-produced joint "The Season" at a Run The Jewels album release event in Brooklyn last night, God's Son drops the official version on his Audiomack account.
  • We On
    We On
    Slum Village are readying a free EP, Vintage, for release later this year. They've previously shared "We On The Go," which featured Black Milk and Frank Nitt, and now they've unveiled the similarly-titled "We On," starring Kam Covert on the hook.
  • Filfth
    J Dilla may not be around anymore, but with his large stash of unreleased music, it doesn't always feel that way. J Dilla's mom, Maureen “Ma Dukes” Yancey, always makes sure her son is properly represented with posthumous releases and tributes. Her latest endeavor is to release a new box set for Dilla, containing 40 cuts, it's called the The King of Beats. Included within the box set are: four 10 inch vinyl records featuring music from Jay's Batches and one special edition cassette containing four unreleased tracks.
  • The Doe
    The Doe
    On last month's Record Store Day, deceased production legend J Dilla was honored by the Give Them What They Want EP, a collection of six tracks from the scrapped vocal album The Diary. Recorded between 2001-2002, "The Doe" is the latest song that Rappcats Records has shared with us from the EP.
  • Jay Dee Rhodes (Electric Piano Solo Remix)
    Jay Dee Rhodes (Electric Piano Solo Remix)
    Veteran DJ/producer House Shoes, who also happens to be Detroit's Hip-Hop Ambassador To The World, is currently hosting a J Dilla remix challenge, inviting participants to flip the late producer's "Electric Piano Solo" interlude, from his 1997 EP Unreleased. 
  • Give Em What They Want
    Give Em What They Want
    J Dilla is easily on of the most celebrated producers of all time. He has a very high stan-to-fan ratio as well, which means the people who listen to him, are generally pretty obsessed with him-- and for good reason. Luckily for the beatmaker's loyal following, Dilla was sitting on a considerable amount of unreleased material when he tragically passed away, with another new effort due out next month. "Give Em What They Want" is the first taste of The Diary, a collection of unreleased Jay Dee vocal tracks from the early 2000s.
  • O' Shut Up
    O' Shut Up
    Today De La Soul gave us some new music to digest, with the release of a BitTorrent bundle comprising of a eleven new mixtape cuts (all with vintage J. Dilla production), an audio letter, a J. Dilla documentary and some wallpapers. The mixtape Smell The DA.I.S.Y. is available for download on HNHH here.
  • Vocabulary Spills
    Vocabulary Spills
    "I kick a skill like Shaquille holds a pill / Vocabulary spills, I'm Ill - plus Matic / I freak beats, slam it like Iron Sheik / Jam like a TEC with correct techniques." 
  • Barbiturates
    We haven't had a leak from Sean Price in a minute, since he dropped the hilariously-titled "N*ggerific" back in December, which you can stream here if you missed it. Today Sean P returns with a new cut for download, that has some production from the late J. Dilla and mixing from PF Cuttin. Price brings Labba, Rim & Illa Ghee along for the ride on "Barbiturates", somewhat of an ode to how fucked up you can get taking the drug. Are you feeling this collaboration? 
  • Dilla Plugged In
    Dilla Plugged In
    The other week for Valentine's Day De La Soul decided to let go their entire catalogue for free download via their website. That alone was generous enough, but when some fans didn't receive their download in a timely manner, De La Soul offered an apology in song-form for that, "Sorry/Thank You."
  • Speak Your Sole
    Speak Your Sole
    Born in the 90's raised in New York City , influenced by artist's such as Lauryn Hill, Erykah Badu, Common, Mos-Def and many others, female Hip-Hop artist/writer [K] created a unique style designed to inspire and uplift this generation though the sounds of boom bap's and hi-hats.
  • Yes Yes
    Yes Yes
    The Hip-Hop world lost something profound when the legendary producer and member of Slum Village passed away in 2006. Illa J, Young RJ and T3, who compose Slum Village as we know it today, release this song over a previously unreleased J. Dilla track to pay tribute to the man who would be turning 40 today, if he hadn't been taken from us all too soon. And be sure to check out their latest mixtape (a la last year), Dirty Slums 2. 
  • Dear Dilla
    Dear Dilla
    Phife Dawg is taking us back for a minute with his new release, "Dear Dilla." The record pays tribute to late producer J. Dilla, while at the same time Phife puts down the current rap scene and style, and reminisces about back-in-the-day. You can read his criticism of our current rappers below. Phife is currently at work on a solo album, MUTTYMorphosis, no word if "Dear Dilla" will appear on it. Quotable Lyrics
  • Aspiration
    Listen to King Dwight - Aspiration (Prod By J.Dilla), the new track by King Dwight, which was dropped on Thursday, December 19th, 2013. King Dwight's odds keep getting better with each new leak, and King Dwight - Aspiration (Prod By J.Dilla) will undoubtedly improve his chances of winning. It's a worthy addition to a respectable catalogue that has seen a lot of growth since King Dwight debuted in this game. We're looking forward to the follow-up.