Tipikal

Back to Player  

I was born on August 27, 1980 in Greenville, SC to a 19 yr old single mother fresh out of high school. At the age of 3 I moved to Anderson, SC to live with my Gma & Pop. I was raised in church and from kindergarten until 6th grade I attended a Christian school. I never listened to any other type of music except Gospel & Country until I was in the 7th grade. This was because my Gma wouldn't allow any other type of music in her house. That's when I discovered MTV and hip hop & I was hooked. The first hip hop song I ever heard was Xscape's "Just Kick It" and I was blown away. I have always had a passion for words & in high school I served on "The Rampage" which was my high school's newspaper & during my senior year I became Editor-In-Chief. At 15 my mom passed away from a blood clot that went into her lung and instantly killed her. I was devastated and turned to drugs to ease my pain. Right after my mom's death I "came out" to my family and instead of showering me with love & support they disowned me and told me that I was a disgrace to my entire family. I have been shunned most of my life because of her sexuality, so I have always had to work harder at everything I have done. After my mom's death is when I began writing in journals to basically get my frustrations out about losing a parent. I felt robbed in a sense because I never had a dad in my life and now my mom was gone as well. Everywhere I went a pen was in my pocket and a notebook was by my side as I would jot down lyrics as soon as they popped in my head. Writing has always been my way to vent & when I started rhyming the words together I knew that it was something special. At the age of 18 I finally met my dad and to this day we maintain a distance relationship. At the age of 23 I got involved with selling dope (meth) for a living. I along with my partner in crime were busted by undercover cops. We both spent 99 days in jail & then received 5yrs probation. I ended up doing 10 months on probation only to violate it & go back to court. In court the judge sentenced me to 3yrs in prison where in Columbia, SC I did 2 of those yrs. I was released from prison in 2006 only to come home & enroll in college in 2007. In 2009 I obtained an Associates of Arts in Communication & in 2012 I received her Bachelors of Science in Communications. In 2012 I met with the husband of one of my friends from prison because the friend had been bragging on how I would rap around the compound. Rapping has always been my dream, but I never thought it would become a reality. The Tipikal CD took approximately 7 months to finish & the support I have received from the community has been overwhelming. The songs on this cd talk about my life & the struggles I have went through, not only as a gay female, but also the struggles of being in prison. Everyone wants to label me as soon as they meet me, but after talking with me, one will see that there is no label to be attached that will be appropriate. My lyric's are real & deep & if you take the time to actually listen to what I am saying then you will see that there is more than meets the eye when it comes to me. I am very passionate about what I do & although I may joke around 99% of the time, when it comes to laying down tracks I am a very serious person. I may go by the name Tipikal, but as you can see my life has been anything, but that.

Comments

Add Comment View Comment Thread
top comment
Password must be at least 6 characters.